A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: Creating default object from empty value

Filename: models/theme_m.php

Line Number: 142

The Anti-Money Laundering Advisory Board | FRC Kenya
  • AML Board

    The Anti-Money Laundering Advisory Board (AML Board)

    The Anti-Money Laundering Advisory Board (AML Board) is established under section 49 of POCAMLA. The Board’s mandate under the Act is to advise the Director of the Financial Reporting Centre (FRC) generally on the performance of his functions and the exercise of his powers under the Act. The Board was officially launched by the Deputy Prime Minister and the then Minister for Finance on 24th June 2011. Its membership comprises,

    1. The Permanent Secretary, Treasury;
    2. The Attorney General;
    3. The Governor, Central Bank of Kenya;
    4. The Inspector General of Police;
    5. The Chairman, Kenya Bankers’ Association (KBA);
    6. The Chief Executive Officer, Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya (ICPAK)
    7.  Director of the Financial Reporting Centre who is also the Secretary to the Board; and
    8. Two other persons who have knowledge and expertise in matters relating to money laundering to represent the private sector. Mr. John Wanyela and Mrs. Sheila M’Mbijewe were appointed by the Minister to represent the private sector as provided by section 49 (1) (h) of the Act. The two private sector representatives were subsequently gazetted on 2nd September 2011. Mr. Wanyela was also appointed and gazetted as the Chair of the Board.


    Name Representation Designation
    Mr. John K. Wanyela -Private Sector Representative - Chairman
    Mr. Joseph Kinyua


    - Permanent Secretary,

    Ministry of Finance
    Prof. Njuguna Ndung’u - Governor, Central Bank of Kenya  -Member
    Mr. David Kimaiyo  - Inspector General of Police -Member
    Mrs. Sheila M’Mbijjewe  - Private Sector Representative -Member
    Prof. Githu Muigai 

    - Attorney General

    - Member
    *Ms. Roselyn Amadi Senior Deputy Chief State Counsel, Alternate to the Attorney General Member
    Mr. Richard Etemesi 

    - Chairman, Kenya Bankers 

    Association (KBA) 

    *Mr. Habil Olaka Chief Executive Officer, Alternate to the Chairman, Kenya Bankers Association (KBA) Member
    Mrs. Caroline Kigen

    - Chief Executive Officer

     Institute of Certified Public

     Accountants (ICPAK)
    - Member
    Mr. Jackson Kitili - Interim Director, Financial Reporting Centre (FRC) - Secretary